Fixing a Chip Programmer

Hi,

I’m new to Generator, I’m down in the Brattleboro area. If this post is in the wrong forum, please let me know.

I have two open source chip programmers I’m trying to make work. I was flashing LPC chips fine with either one until the programmers just stopped recognising my chips. I’ve verified the chips still work in the mainboard I’m flashing them for.

One is based on a teensy, the other an arduino uno which is completely open hardware I believe. Unfortunately, I’m not very familiar with electronics troubleshooting, and don’t have the right tools to diagnose this properly.

Does anyone have any advice for me on this?

Thank you,
Karl

Hi Karl,

Do you have any more information about the teensy and uno programmers that you’re using? Are you interfacing via JTAG, SWD, or something else? Also, what software stack are you using to program the chips?

I’ve never worked with the NXP LPC series of microcontrollers, but have had good luck with using the OpenOCD project on the Raspberry Pi as a method of programming other ARM Cortex based chips (STM32, ATSAMD) via the GPIO headers.

Leif

1 Like

Leif, thanks for your reply.

The first programmer I was using is described at Teensy 3.1 SPI + LPC/FWH Flasher - flashrom .

Now I have set up Serprog/Arduino flasher - flashrom .

The programmers write to 32 pin flash chips. I believe the 3V clocked LPC protocol has 4 pins for writing or reading 4 bits of data at once.

I breadboarded the layouts, rather than doing the surface mount soldering the pages recommend. Although I’m relatively young, my hands shake and vision is poor, so smd soldering can be hard for me.

Both of these programmers worked fine, then stopped recognizing the chips. I’ve checked the breadboard connections, reflashed the mcus, tried different host systems and different flash chips. I’m not sure what to try next.

I looked into openocd: this would be for debugging the arduino or teensy, I think?

1 Like

Hi Karl,