Small Businesses NEED YOUR HELP

Hi All,

I’m a small business owner out in the NEK. I am regularly posting (very simple) paid jobs in the job board forum, and, never getting a bite. I’m able to make adobe files to my specifications for use on the equipment available at the generator. I am not posting complex 3d design jobs (though if there’s any one reading this that believes women can be capable of measuring-- I might have a job for you there, too!)

What I’m really not able to do is drive hours to sit at the Generator while things cut and print – trying to run my particular, not-design related small business doesn’t leave room to devote a full day of the week to this work. This work being done supports my particular, not-design related business, yes, but not enough to forego a full day in my work week. Plus, y’all know I can’t use the equipment I need until I’ve completed a training on it-- which would be another full day trip, if I was lucky enough to be able to schedule it at all.

Most small business owners are already wearing 1000 different hats and eventually come to the conclusion they can’t do it all alone. I really would if I had the time, y’all. Instead, I’d really like to hire someone, already there, already doing this work, already authorized to use the equipment to add my thing(s) to their queue.

Is the Generator really a place: only for members, only to do their own thing?
Feels like an underutilization of incredible resources. Why will no one take my money?

I worked on a project there three summers ago, was in an out everyday for three months and everyone was really eager to be involved. Do I have to physically be there to find help? That’s the part I’m trying to save myself, being there physically.